RSS Feed

Teach Your Children

“Don’t worry that children never listen to you; worry that they are always watching you.”  – Robert Fulghum

I have a wonderful mom.   She is the reason I am the person I am.  But to be completely honest, I don’t remember once piece of advice she gave me growing up.  I’m certain she gave me some.  She might have even put a lot of time and effort into coming up with this advice.  I remember none of it.

I do remember what she did.  I remember her cutting the grass, refinishing furniture, building a fence, moving railroad ties, cooking, cleaning, planting flowers, running, and a ton of other things.  She did things for herself.  She did not wait for others to do it.   What I remember is her being tough and self assured.  I’m guessing most of the time she didn’t feel that way but that is how I remember her.

I try to remember that Pnut and Little Dude are watching what I do.  They are going to learn from what I do not what I say.  That is one reason I think it is so important to take time for myself and to take care of myself.  I want them to do the same when they grow up.

This weekend Brian and his dad took the kids out one morning.  I went for a wonderful 6 mile run.  I hope pnut and LD remember special time with dad, but I also hope they remember that mommy was out running.  I hope Pnut remembers that mommy was strong and did things for herself.  More than anything, I want her to grow into a strong woman. I want her to depend on herself and to be confident she can do anything she wants to do.

My children are watching.  I need to be the best me I can be.

About beingmorethanmommy

I'm a 36 year old mom of a 5 year old daughter and a 2 year old son. My husband and I recently moved across the country and we are starting our new lives in the Pacific Northwest. I grew up a swimmer then got into triathlons. I took a break from tri's after I had my children. I've been back into them for a couple years. I also enjoy running and have done a couple half marathons.

One response »

  1. Love this one and couldn’t agree more. It is nice to see my kids watching and learning from me. I little one always tells me she is a runner just like mommy. Of course she is and I love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

